All for Aldo

27Aug09
All For Aldo
Over the years, Aldo went from a shoe store that you could go to for heels that you needed for an interview, or for cute sandals that wouldn’t break the budget. Best of all, they also had a liquidation store on Granville Street and a fledgling accessories store. I remember in the ninth grade hustling my butt to get a trendy macramé belt (hippie chic was in with the sudden emergence of the flare) from Aldo Accessories before this other girl in my grade could rock them. Now, Aldo has become to source to check out the latest style before it hits other mainstream brands, albeit their penchant for imitating imitators (Jeffrey Campbell, Steve Madden) may be suspect, I say all’s fair in the game of shoes. My top five choices from their Fall/Winter 09 collection:
[image]
Cassetty
Over the knee boots, they look amazing, and the thin tassels are a cute touch, however I tried them on and they are pretty tight on the calves.
[image]
Huckeby
Everyone needs a badass pair of black ankle books with straps. Or at least every Little J post-rebellion does.
[image]
Yumas
Hardware is definitely in on shoes this season. It’s available also in black, but surprise people during the day in these bad boys.
[image]
Keen
The oxford trend or the saddle shoe trend has been with us for a couple seasons already, but Aldo updates it with these guys. The pointed metal tips on the straps say they dropped out of the women’s college from the fifties and enrolled themselves into art school.
[image]
Babinski
These black ankle boots with the sheath-like covering are not for the faint of heart, and are best paired with tights or leggings.
I’m not one for malls (reminds me of my ninth grader self way too much), but I’ll sacrifice my face for these shoes.

Aimee / Contributor

Photobucket

Over the years, Aldo went from a shoe store that you could go to for heels that you needed for an interview, or for cute sandals that wouldn’t break the budget. Best of all, they also had a liquidation store on Granville Street and a fledgling accessories store. I remember in the ninth grade hustling my butt to get a trendy macramé belt (hippie chic was in with the sudden emergence of the flare) from Aldo Accessories before this other girl in my grade could rock them. Now, Aldo has become to source to check out the latest style before it hits other mainstream brands, albeit their penchant for imitating imitators (Jeffrey Campbell, Steve Madden) may be suspect, I say all’s fair in the game of shoes. My top five choices from their Fall/Winter 09 collection:

Photobucket

Cassetty
Over the knee boots, they look amazing, and the thin tassels are a cute touch, however I tried them on and they are pretty tight on the calves.

Photobucket

Huckeby
Everyone needs a badass pair of black ankle books with straps. Or at least every Little J post-rebellion does.

Photobucket

Yumas
Hardware is definitely in on shoes this season. It’s available also in black, but surprise people during the day in these bad boys.

Photobucket

Keen
The oxford trend or the saddle shoe trend has been with us for a couple seasons already, but Aldo updates it with these guys. The pointed metal tips on the straps say they dropped out of the women’s college from the fifties and enrolled themselves into art school.

Babinski

Babinski
These black ankle boots with the sheath-like covering are not for the faint of heart, and are best paired with tights or leggings.

I’m not one for malls (reminds me of my ninth grader self way too much), but I’ll sacrifice my face for these shoes.

One Response to “All for Aldo”

  1. If I had a buck for each time I came here.. Superb post.


Leave a Reply

